Gratitude

I’ve been working in the arts for over 20 years but up until now, I never applied for funding for a project I passionately wanted to deliver as a solo artist. I’m very glad to say that, that all changed and this week when I was notified that I had been successful with a recent Arts Council National Lottery Project Grant application.

This will allow me to, as a part of The Bristol Old Vic’s Ferment Fortnight Programme, create and deliver part 1 of a planned 3 phase theatre project based on the African and Caribbean folklore character Anansi (Ananci, Anancy) the spider man.

I am so grateful for this opportunity to deliver this project which has been in my heart for a very long time. I am also very nervous as I have standards and although it is a R & D (research and delevelopment) Project, I want it to be the best it can be and with the support of my fellow collaborator Dr Edson Burton and Chloe, Ben and Sian at the Bristol Old Vic, I’m believe it will be. Onwards and upwards.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image-2.png
Developed with support from Bristol Old Vic

Published by 365create

I am a Visual Artist with a background in fashion and textiles. I am passionate about delivering arts projects that focus on community engagement, celebration, diversity, equality and all things Carnival.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started